We are a cultural association

URI Sapori condivisi. Roddino.

URI sapori condivisi Roddino
We, in the hills.

Sitting on the terrace of the Uri in Roddino and letting your gaze roam over the gentle hills of the Langhe, can result in losing ones’ sense of time and space. This place has something special, it has power, maybe even a little magic!
In any case, it is also a place of outstanding cuisine. The “Sapori” in its name is what its offering and it means ‘flavours’, a promise they really are keeping! But condivisi which means shared, why “shared” flavours? And what does ‘Uri’ actually mean?
The solution to the puzzle lies in the story of Frederica and Kim, who run the Uri with a lot of passion. She, Frederica, is Italian. He, Kim, Korean. The two met at Massimo Camia in La Morra. From there they went to the “Enoteca” of Davide Palluda and from there on they stayed only on common paths: love, marriage and their own restaurant; the Uri (it is, by the way, a Korean word and stands for “we” or “ours”). It is a restaurant that is deeply rooted in the culinary tradition of the Langhe, but which expands Piedmontese cuisine with exciting aspects from Kim’s homeland of Korea. As a guest, you can see this by the fact that the courses are served in large bowls to the middle of each table and then everyone at the table can help themselves. Also in the fact that Kim not only harvests the vegetables from his own garden, but lands it lightly fermented on the plate. In this the koreans are grandmasters.
The concept works and how it works! There are always two menus to choose from in the Uri. A traditional and a more experimental. You can’t really go wrong with either. The first course of the “Menu Piemonte” is simply called antipasto misto. It comes as two courses and already sets the bar quite high. The ‘Battuta di Fassone’ alone would be a reason to come here again and again; Meat of perfect quality, roughly chopped and a touch of olive oil. Then the magnificent Tajarin. This is deep yellow pasta ribbon noodles, even thinner than tagliatelle, served with fabulously good Ragu (with rabbit meat), or ‘plin di carne e fondo bruno’; Dough bags filled with lamb.
The main course was Brasato al Barolo, a roast beef that had been braised for a long time in Barolo wine. Apparently, depending on the mood, it has also ended up in the Oven as Brasato al ‘Nebbiolo’. Both varieties of Red Wine make for a fantastic braised beef dish!
On the other hand, the experimental menu is less traditional. A crispy sandwich with guinea fowl and sauce Béarnaise, now almost a signature dish in the house Uri! Or ‘ottoke’; A pancake filled with a mix of cinnamon, honey, raisins and hazelnuts. Traditionally in Korea, where the recipe originates, Peanuts are used, but the Piedmont influence is delivered by replacing the peanuts with the Haselnuts of the Langhe!
One can only hope that the ‘Uri’ will remain with us and the Langhe for a long, long time to come.

Infos @urisaporicondivisi
Località Porine, 4,
12050 Roddino
T +39 334 9704528

 

Text and photos Jürgen Schmücking*

 

Infos @urisaporicondivisi

Località Porine, 4,

12050 Roddino

T +39 334 9704528

Wir sind ein Kulturverein

URI Sapori Condivisi. Roddino

URI sapori condivisi Roddino
Wir, in den Hügeln.
Text und Fotos Jürgen Schmücking*

Sitzt man auf der Terrasse des Uri in Roddino und lässt seinen Blick über die sanften Hügel der Langhe streifen, kann es schon passieren, dass man das Gefühl für Zeit und Raum verliert. Der Ort hat etwas Besonderes, hat Kraft. Vielleicht sogar ein wenig Magie. Auf jeden Fall ist es ein Ort herausragender Kulinarik. Das „Sapori“ im Namen hält, was es verspricht. Aber condivisi? Warum „gemeinsamer“ Geschmack? Und was bedeutet überhaupt Uri??
Des Rätsels Lösung liegt in der Geschichte von Frederica und Kim, die das Uri mit viel Leidenschaft und Herzblut betreiben. Sie, Frederica, ist Italienerin. Er, Kim, Koreaner. Kennengelernt haben sich die beiden bei Massimo Camia in La Morra. Von dort gingen sie in die „Enoteca“ von Davide Palluda und von dort überhaupt nur noch gemeinsame Wege: Liebe, Kinder, eigenes Restaurant. Das Uri (es ist übrigens ein koreanisches Wort und steht für „Wir“ oder auch „Unseres“) ist ein Restaurant, das tief in der kulinarischen Tradition der Langhe verwurzelt ist, die piemontesische Küche aber um spannende Aspekte aus Kims Heimat erweitert. Als Gast erkennt man das etwa daran, daß Gänge in großen Schüsseln, aus denen sich alle bedienen können, in der Mitte des Tisches stehen. Oder daran, dass Kim das Gemüse nicht einfach aus seinem Garten holt, sondern es leicht fermentiert am Teller landet. Darin sind sie nämlich Großmeister, die Koreaner.
Das Konzept funktioniert. Und wie es funktioniert. Im Uri stehen stets zwei Menüs zur Auswahl. Ein traditionelles und ein eher experimentelles. Wirklich falsch macht man bei beiden nichts. Der erste Gang des „Menu Piemonte“ heisst simpel antipasto misto, kommt in zwei Gängen und legt die Latte schon ziemlich hoch. Alleine die Battuta di Fassone wäre ein Grund, immer wieder und immer wieder hierher zu kommen. Perfekte Fleischqualität, grob geschnitten, ein Hauch Olivenöl. Dann herrliche Tajarin. Das ist tiefgelbe Pasta, Bandnudeln, noch dünner als Tagliatelle und mit sagenhaft gutem Ragù (Hase) serviert. Oder plin di carne e fondo bruno. Teigtaschen mit Lamm gefüllt. Als Hauptgang gab es Brasato al Barolo, ein lange im Wein geschmorter Rinderbraten, der – scheinbar je nach Laune – auch einmal als Brasato al Nebbiolo im Rohr landet. Großes Rinderkino ist beides.
Drüben, beim experimentellen Menü geht es weniger traditionell zu. Ein knuspriges Sandwich mit Perlhuhn und Sauce Béarnaise, mittlerweile fast ein signature dish im Hause Uri oder ottoke. Ein Pfannkuchen, gefüllt mit einem Mix aus Zimt, Honig, Rosinen und Haselnüssen. In Kim’s Heimat, aus der das Rezept stammt, werden Erdnüsse verwendet. Aber inzwischen hat er ja eine neue Heimat gefunden. Bleibt zu wünschen, dass uns und der Langhe das Uri noch lange erhalten bleibt.

 

Infos @urisaporicondivisi

Località Porine, 4,

12050 Roddino

T +39 334 9704528